The Way I See It

Roundabout

with 6 comments

Roundabout

Roundabout

It’s been a long dry spell for sunset seascapes. The past several afternoons that things looked promising, the clouds would eventually either completely obliterate the sky, or everything would blow away, leaving nothing but blank blue.

I made this image this week. When I checked the sky, the forecast and the tide tables, I discovered that things were aligned for the potential of a reasonable sunset. Made it down to the water, set up, and as the sun began to drop below the horizon, the incoming waves started to pound ashore. For the first time in a long time, I ended up hastily retreating to higher ground (so as not to get completely drenched) while temporarily abandoning the camera and tripod. This was the last image that I was able to make before the gear got so wet that it was not wise to continue shooting.

Photo Notes
I had a really hard time controlling the dynamic range during this shoot. As usual, I shot with a graduated ND filter, but the difference was so great and things were moving so quickly that I ended up going with two exposures – one for the foreground, the other for the sky. By default, this two-image solution meant some substantial post-processing. In this case, I spent a lot of time dodging and burning to get things to look the way that I wanted.

Written by xinapray

April 29, 2012 at 9:01 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Really beautiful.

    boomerontario

    April 29, 2012 at 9:39 am

  2. Lovely result!

    John Mullinax

    April 29, 2012 at 10:06 am

  3. I’ve seen many coastline sunset shots where the sky is ridiculously dark. So nice that you’ve avoided that route with this beauty. Well done.

    Frank King Photos

    April 29, 2012 at 10:39 am

    • Thanks, Frank. All my local adjustments were made to get the scene to the point where it appears as the brain would see it.

      xinapray

      April 29, 2012 at 2:41 pm


Leave a Reply

