The Way I See It

Market After Dark

with 6 comments

All-Way Crossing

All-Way Crossing

So I’ve been playing with this gizmo called a Sony NEX-7. One of the things that I’m especially interested in is how it performs in low light…how the images look when shot at high ISOs. Last night, after dinner, the rain finally let up. I made a quick trip to the Pike Place Public Market and got in some shots of the place as it appears after hours (those of you who have visited Seattle have probably seen it in it’s crowded daytime glory so this is a somewhat stark contrast 😉 ).

Red Jacket

Red Jacket

Photo Notes
All images were made with the Sony 18-55 kit lens, shot mostly wide open. What stunned me was how great the JPGs looked, right out of the camera. Nonetheless, I decided to process the RAW files in Lightroom, to see how things could be pushed and pulled. For these first three  images, I applied a minimum of processing, mostly mimicking how they looked when they came out of the camera.

Take Me Home With You?

Take Me Home With You?

I was more heavy-handed with Chef. A tough scene to meter, I had underexposed it quite severely when I shot it. I thus applied an additional stop of exposure in processing. As is to be expected, the dark areas came out somewhat noisy, but Lightroom did a reasonable job in clearing it up (I tend to favor putting up with noise over losing detail).

Chef

Chef

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow Ray, I could learn alot from your explanations and images re: processing. Your night shots are great, though it is the last one that I am drawn to. Very cool!

    marinachetner

    March 31, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    • Thanks, Marina! That gentleman in the last image is Chef Daisley Gordon, one of Seattle’s finest.

      xinapray

      March 31, 2012 at 5:43 pm

  2. Great images Ray, I love the lighting and details in “Red Jacket” and “Chef” is a great composition. I like how the door handle is just in the picture.

    drawandshoot

    April 1, 2012 at 5:53 am

    • Oops, I missed your comments. Belated thanks, Karen!

      xinapray

      April 9, 2012 at 3:15 pm

  3. The chef one is my favorite. Your design balance is incredible. You don’t let the eye leave. It keeps circling back through.

    creativenoodling

    April 5, 2012 at 10:39 am

    • You are too kind, Marian. Thank you!

      xinapray

      April 5, 2012 at 10:24 pm


Leave a Reply

