The Way I See It

Sunset, 20120304

with 13 comments

untitled

untitled

One of my favorite activities is catching sunset by the water. It allows me to decompress and recharge; a gorgeous blue hour keeps me in good spirits for days. But the confluence of weather and work this winter has offered me relatively few opportunities to participate in this favorite activity.

Sunday evening brought the potential to make a few frames. I arrived with lots of time to spare but as the big orange orb edged it’s way towards the horizon, the anxiety began to build. It used to feel like I ran through each sunset shoot as if on autopilot. But today, I struggled with composition and finding the right technical settings. And as quickly as the sun was racing past the horizon, so my window of opportunity was closing. I hurried through several frames. This is one of the images that I was able to capture. Shooting seascapes is about relaxing and making a good memory. On this day, it felt like just really hard work. πŸ˜‰

Photog Notes
f/13, 1/4 second at ISO 200. To help tame the dynamic range, I applied a 2-stop hard-edged graduated neutral density filter when I made the exposure. But the histogram and on-screen blinkies confirmed that I still had blown highlights (where the sun had just dropped below the horizon and in the clouds directly above), so I snapped an exposure just for those areas and manually blended them into the overall image.

Written by xinapray

March 10, 2012 at 4:30 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is beautiful. I’m glad the weather cooperated and you were able to get to the water.

    • Thanks, Sherene! I was lucky to get this image.

      xinapray

      March 10, 2012 at 4:48 pm

  2. Really nice, Ray. Would it look even better a bit darker?

    Frank King Photos

    March 10, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    • Thanks, Frank. I made a last minute curve adjustment that, in retrospect, may have been a bit heavy-handed. I’ll probably rework the image again before putting the files to bed on this one.

      xinapray

      March 11, 2012 at 10:46 am

  3. You can feel the rush from the image, looking at the water. I feel that your words amplified that for me – I was with you, hoping to get that shot. You succeeded though I can’t help but wonder what I would have felt without reading your words. I love that about photography and the written word. Lovely shot. Happy weekend!

    marinachetner

    March 10, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    • Thanks, Marina! Perhaps, someday, we can shoot together. That would be grand!

      xinapray

      March 11, 2012 at 10:48 am

      • It would be! I’ve still got your Shanghai photos vivid in my mind πŸ™‚

        marinachetner

        March 11, 2012 at 4:20 pm

  4. Gorgeous !

    hellenjc

    March 11, 2012 at 1:14 am

  5. Oh, it’s amazing Ray!
    There is really a sense of the end of the day slipping away quickly, the movement in the clouds and the water emphasizing the fleeting moment. A luminous tension.

    drawandshoot

    March 11, 2012 at 9:37 am

    • You are always able to find the words that I cannot. Thank you, Karen!

      xinapray

      March 11, 2012 at 10:48 am

  6. I love the way you see and the resulting capture. Wow.

    creativenoodling

    April 6, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    • Thanks Marian, you are too kind!

      xinapray

      April 8, 2012 at 11:56 pm


Leave a Reply

