The Way I See It

That That Is Not Seen

with 4 comments

Carkeek IR No.1

Carkeek IR No.1

For some time now, I have been interested in Infrared photography. I recently jumped into the genre with an IR-converted point-and-shoot. I’ve been shooting it alongside my regular cameras and have been learning what works, what doesn’t, what subjects look good, what is absolutely boring. Here are a couple of my experiments.

Photog Notes
One thing that I quickly discovered with shooting in the infrared part of the spectrum is just how much light is required to make a proper exposure. Because my shooting style involves shooting in relative low light anyway, a great deal of my initial handhelds were discards. Exposing for IR takes 1 to 2 stops more light (or roughly twice to four times as much light as needed with a regular camera), so I’m toting the tripod around a lot more. I imagine that it’s quite amusing to people to watch the guy with the big tripod with the little camera perched on top 😉

Gasworks IR No.1

Gasworks IR No.1

 

Written by xinapray

March 3, 2012 at 4:58 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These are really beautiful Ray!
    Are you saying that you made them with a converted digital camera or a film camera? I’ve have used black and white infrared film and it’s always fun to see the results.
    Great to see these, I love them!

    drawandshoot

    March 3, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    • Thanks, Karen! I made these images with an IR-converted camera. It’s been great fun. The camera doesn’t produce the sharpest images…am contemplating a dSLR conversion already! 😉

      xinapray

      March 3, 2012 at 10:02 pm

  2. I like the perspective of that top photo; the lines!

    marinachetner

    March 5, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    • Thank you, Marina!

      xinapray

      March 5, 2012 at 9:43 pm


Leave a Reply

