The Way I See It

Prelude

with 2 comments

Lindera obtusiloba

Lindera obtusiloba

It has been a really mild winter. I’ve been seeing signs of the trees coming to life and decided to stop in at the arboretum to take a look around. I made this image under a Japanese Spicebush or Lindera obtusiloba. A mature specimen that may actually have seen more days than I, it is one of my favorites of the collection. I’ve spent many a spring or autumn afternoon under it’s brilliant foliage, absorbing the magnificence of the sea of yellows and greens, and bathing in the spicy-sweet fragrance. On this day, it was just awakening from it’s winter slumber.

Photog Notes
f/11, 1/10 second at ISO 400. I shot this on a relatively calm afternoon but these shoots were so thin and delicate that even if I moved a little too quickly, the air would stir just enough that the camera was able to pick up the slight movement. I thus chose to shoot at a higher ISO than I’d have preferred, and underexposed a teeny bit to get a usable shutter speed. In processing, I bumped up the exposure ⅓ stop, and applied a bit of selective dodging and burning.

 

Written by xinapray

February 26, 2012 at 6:14 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lovely – a symbol of new life!

    marinachetner

    February 27, 2012 at 8:04 pm


Leave a Reply

