The Way I See It

Shanghai Street

with 10 comments

2011 was a pretty good photographic year for me. With the regular camera, I was able to capture some landscape and travel images that I am pretty pleased with. But looking back, one of the highlights is certainly how much street photography I was able to accomplish. It is not a genre that I usually pursue but one of my favorite things to do while traveling is to wander around, observing people as they lead their regular lives. These are several mobile phone images that I made during my wanderings in Shanghai. Please let me know what you think?

Photog Notes
These images were captured with a T-Mobile G2 (aka the HTC Desire Z), using an application called Retro Camera. I really like the various styles of output that the app is able to produce, but this comes at the expense of shutter lag – it takes 1 to 2 seconds to focus and capture the image. Not particularly good for candid street shots but one eventually learns to prepare and anticipate. 😉

 

Written by xinapray

February 19, 2012 at 9:22 am

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love them all Ray! I love street photography and you’ve captured so many different scenes here – so candid. My favourite is the last one for a few reasons. I really need to get to Shanghai.

    marinachetner

    February 19, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    • Thanks, Marina! I am now curious about the few reasons, pray tell? 😉
      Let me know when you make plans. Perhaps we can go shooting together!

      xinapray

      February 19, 2012 at 5:52 pm

      • Oh my reasons are not that exciting – just the historical, political, modern, technological juxtapositions! If I could go shooting with you in Shanghai, i would be in cloud 9! To learn from someone in a fascinating city would be the ultimate! I think I told you, that my mum was born in Harbin? Alot of her friends lived in Shanghai too. She’s writing a story on her family history though not sure how much will be centred on China… Who knows? Maybe I can convince her to take a trip sometime soon.
        I also like how you’ve included nostalgia with all the different colour treatments and the framings. This could be one of my favourite collections from you. The prayer wheels and fall colours are still favourites too!

        marinachetner

        February 19, 2012 at 6:02 pm

      • Yes, I was so curious how your Mom (or more accurately, your Mom’s parents) ended up in the frozen north in the first place. Would love to read her memoir. Sounds like an interesting life.

        Thanks for your kind words. I’ve been sitting on these images for a while. I have a total of about 20 that I really like – mainly because they remind me of pleasant times spent in Shanghai last year. Am thinking of building a little (square) book, just for kicks. 😉

        xinapray

        February 19, 2012 at 6:14 pm

      • I think you should do a square book. Keep me posted on that! My mum is Russian, as is my dad – though he was born in Germany. Her family settled there after a Revolution and then shipped it to Sydney, after WWII. I saw a travel show – hosted by Anthony Bourdain – that showed how the Russians are once again settling in Harbin for business opportunities. I need t get her cracking on her book. I was even thinking to write it myself…

        marinachetner

        February 19, 2012 at 6:25 pm

      • What an interesting story. Definitely worth documenting!

        Thanks, I’ll keep you posted on the book.

        xinapray

        February 19, 2012 at 6:44 pm

  2. I really like street photography. Much easier to do with a phone, I think, instead of a big camera and long lens. I like that Retro app — it can make some interesting images. 🙂

    KatiesCameraBlog

    February 20, 2012 at 7:05 am

    • Thanks, Katie!

      xinapray

      February 20, 2012 at 1:41 pm

  3. Ray these are an amazing collection of street images. Nostalgic but current. Beautiful!

    drawandshoot

    February 20, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    • Thanks Karen. Most of them have some personal significance (I guess all art does). I held off on titling any of them to see if they could stand on their own.

      xinapray

      February 20, 2012 at 8:00 pm


Leave a Reply

