The Way I See It

Thursday’s Twilight

with 13 comments

thursday's twilight

I’ve been fighting a cold all week. By the time Thursday afternoon rolled around, a touch of cabin fever had set in. The sky looked somewhat promising so I bundled up with an extra layer and took a drive. By the time I got down to the water, the interesting clouds had dissipated so I just hung out with the other sunset watchers, savoring the last minutes of a gorgeous afternoon (and of course snapping a few). On my way out, a beautiful glow continued to cling to the sky. That’s how this image came about.

Photo Notes
1.5 seconds at f/9.5, ISO 200. To maximize image quality, I try to shoot at a camera’s optimal ISO as much as possible. In this case, staying within the lens’ optimal aperture range (I picked f/9.5) required a long 1-1/2 second exposure, so out came the tripod again. Made a few images before it got too dark; I liked the framing of this one the best.

Written by xinapray

February 4, 2012 at 3:48 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is beautiful!

    marinachetner

    February 4, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    • Thank you, Marina! It was a good evening to be out and about.

      xinapray

      February 4, 2012 at 9:08 pm

  2. This would make a wonderful wall poster! Great atmosphere and colours.

    Harry Tan

    February 5, 2012 at 8:39 am

    • Thanks, Harry! I kind of like it too! 😉

      xinapray

      February 12, 2012 at 3:26 pm

  3. Very nice 🙂

    Charlie McDonald

    February 6, 2012 at 6:50 am

    • Thank you, Charlie!

      xinapray

      February 12, 2012 at 3:27 pm

  4. Beautiful colors and I love bare trees.

    Michael (mB)

    February 6, 2012 at 8:14 pm

    • Thanks, Michael. I, too, love trees in their basic, winter, form.

      xinapray

      February 12, 2012 at 3:27 pm

  5. I’m with Harry on this as a poster. Love the division of space and the pattern of the silhouetted trees is sweet. Well done!

    Frank King Photos

    February 12, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    • Thank you, Frank! This is one of my favorite stands of trees. It’s always a treat to shoot in/around them, regardless of season.

      xinapray

      February 12, 2012 at 4:30 pm

  6. Good gosh this is amazing!

    creativenoodling

    April 5, 2012 at 10:37 am

  7. […] image by Ray Chong at The Way I See It has been haunting me for weeks and he was kind enough to let me […]


Leave a Reply

