The Way I See It

Snow Days

with 9 comments

雪天

雪天

We’ve had snow on the ground for the past several days. Not terribly unusual for Seattle, but interesting nonetheless because we get so little of it each year that the most people stay home and a lot of businesses, government offices and schools either shut down or have abbreviated hours. I made this image on Sunday, after the first snowfall.

Photog Notes
1/200 second, f/5.6 on a Canon Powershot S100 point-and-shoot set at ISO 200. I love how snow days make everything so monochromatic. This image is very much what came out of the camera. In processing, I applied a teeny bit of spot tone adjustment to compensate for the somewhat uneven lighting. No typical copyright watermark on this one – I decided to apply a Chinese-style stamp to reflect the art and other things that inspire me these days.

 

Written by xinapray

January 20, 2012 at 3:41 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like this. I also like your watermark. What does the Chinese symbol under the image mean?

    marinachetner

    January 20, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    • Thanks, Marina! The character is a stylized old-fashioned “zhang”, my last name in Chinese. It is traditional for a Chinese artist, poet, etc. to stamp her/his work with a (usually) red seal bearing her/his name.

      xinapray

      January 20, 2012 at 4:00 pm

      • I like that 🙂 and what does the character under the image mean?

        marinachetner

        January 20, 2012 at 4:04 pm

      • Whoops! 雪 = snow. 天 = day. But together, 雪天 can mean “snow day” or “snow days/season”; singular or plural is ambiguous in this case.

        xinapray

        January 20, 2012 at 4:13 pm

      • beautiful! Thanks 🙂

        marinachetner

        January 20, 2012 at 4:16 pm

  2. Wow, this is really beautiful Ray. It reminds me of printmaking. I think the symbol adds to that interpretation. I like the stamp also, a piece of art on it’s own.

    drawandshoot

    January 21, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    • Thanks, Karen! I couldn’t find my seal to digitize and had to create what you see by hand. Thank goodness for tablets. 😉

      xinapray

      January 22, 2012 at 8:45 am

  3. I love the beautiful simplicity of this, it’s like a traditional Chinese woodcut almost!

    Tania Smith

    February 28, 2012 at 11:54 pm

    • Thanks, Tania, I kind of like it too 😉

      xinapray

      February 29, 2012 at 1:00 pm


Leave a Reply

