The Way I See It

Brrrr!

with 8 comments

winter style

winter style

We’re pretty spoiled in Seattle. Our geography and proximity to the ocean (currents) provide us with mild weather all year round. Wet maybe, but definitely tolerable. December, however, blew in with some attitude. I made this image earlier this week on a morning when the frost was thick on the ground.

Photog Notes
This is another image from my ongoing test of the Canon PowerShot S100. I made this exposure at 1/200 second with the camera set at ISO 400. To control the depth of field, I shot the lens at a wide-open f/2. What I like most is the cool tones that the auto white balance imparted. In processing the RAW image, I tried a variety of settings but nothing came as close to reproducing the light and color that day as the in-camera white balance.

 

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice image and impressive depth. I didn’t know the S10 did f2.

    Mike Moruzi

    December 17, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    • Thanks, Mike. The S100 does indeed start at f/2 at the 24mm end. This, however, grows as you extend the zoom. Nonetheless, I’m quite pleased with the isolation that can be achieved with the widest aperture.

      xinapray

      December 18, 2011 at 11:57 am

  2. Very nice. I like the delicate white frost outline of the leaves. Reminds me of autumn back home in Michigan.

    mB

    December 18, 2011 at 9:36 am

    • Thanks, mB. Truth be told, we’re weather weenies in the PNW…lots of “chilling” tales to be told when the temperatures dip that “low” 😉

      xinapray

      December 18, 2011 at 12:00 pm

  3. Perfect!

    drawandshoot

    December 18, 2011 at 7:34 pm

  4. I can feel the coooold ! 🙂

    MathiasLPhotos

    December 19, 2011 at 5:37 am

    • Thanks, Mathias!

      xinapray

      December 19, 2011 at 8:20 am


Leave a Reply

