The Way I See It

Potpourri

with 8 comments

Potpourri

Potpourri

For the past several weeks, I have been testing Canon’s new S100 point-and-shoot camera. I made this image while walking around Green Lake (our local urban lake). I had stopped at a local fishing spot to survey the fall colors that fringed the water and discovered this scene, undulating gently at my feet. As I leaned toward the surface to take a closer look, the sweet, earthy bouquet of maple rose to greet me. What a pleasant surprise gift of nature.

Photog Notes
I made this image at ISO 400, exposure set for 1/30 second at f/8. What you see is the full frame. The details and clarity speak to the sharpness of the lens and it’s superior integration with the sensor and electronics. The from-camera JPG was beautiful and eminently usable but I decided to process the RAW file to correct for a bit of blueness from the auto white balance. I also applied the tiniest bit of tone mapping to bring out the wonderful gradations in the scene.

Written by xinapray

December 10, 2011 at 4:58 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. beautiful! Sights such as this one make me think of stars having fallen from the sky 🙂 Great shot!

    marinachetner

    December 10, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    • Thanks, Marina! I, too, see these as stars in pools of water. Here’s an image that I made some time ago. Really saw stars in this pond.
      It's Full of Stars!

      xinapray

      December 10, 2011 at 8:06 pm

      • wow – that link shows a beautiful photo!! I love it – the water is even glistening. I don’t even compare to the shot I took with my point n shoot a few weeks ago…http://wp.me/p1YdU5-7a It’s the 9th photo in the post. I wish I had used yours!!

        marinachetner

        December 10, 2011 at 8:20 pm

      • Thanks! I like your shot too. I think it gets the (powerful) message across.

        xinapray

        December 11, 2011 at 2:01 am

  2. Nice combination of the color and water.

    mB

    December 11, 2011 at 5:52 pm

  3. Hi! I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. The details are on my home page 🙂

    marinachetner

    December 15, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    • I am honored! Thanks, Marina!

      xinapray

      December 17, 2011 at 10:12 am


Leave a Reply

