The Way I See It

Colors and Lines, Beijing Hilton Style

with 7 comments

zeta bar

zeta bar

A couple of images from the archives – I have liked them since I made them but just have not had the chance to properly process the files. I shot these at the Hilton Beijing (the Third Ring Road location, near Sanlitun) last year. It was my last morning there. Had an hour to kill so I wandered around the common areas and found some nice themes and lines.

Photog Notes
These images are pretty much straight out of the camera. The one care that I took in making these shots was to line up the horizontals and verticals so that I could use as much of each frame as possible (i.e., with minimal cropping). Even with doing so, one tweak that I had to make in processing was to compensate for the converging lines due to lens barrel distortion. A modest cost of modern zoom lens technology.

self-portrait on 2

self-portrait on 2

 

 

Written by xinapray

December 3, 2011 at 9:52 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love these. The top image is very cool – colour filters and curved lines.

    marinachetner

    December 3, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    • Thanks for your kind words, Marina! I hope you are enjoying your new camera!

      xinapray

      December 3, 2011 at 6:01 pm

      • My pleasure! I am enjoying it – I went to Chinatown today and tried all sorts of settings! PS I wondered if I may use your photo of prayer wheels in a future ‘inspiration’ post?

        marinachetner

        December 3, 2011 at 6:28 pm

      • Absolutely! You are always welcome, Marina.
        Chinatown is a great place to shoot, isn’t it? I’m ethnically Chinese and go to our Chinatown regularly. The photo ops never cease to fascinate me.

        xinapray

        December 3, 2011 at 6:32 pm

      • Thank you! Yes, I love Chinatown though I may have to go back a few times to really capture the essence (as you know, I am just getting my feet wet with the angles, colours, exposure and all that!). Have you got a post on Chinatown shots?

        marinachetner

        December 3, 2011 at 7:06 pm

  2. I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award 🙂 http://cwmcdonald.com/2011/12/09/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Charlie McDonald

    December 9, 2011 at 11:50 am

    • I am honored! Thanks, Charlie!

      xinapray

      December 9, 2011 at 5:30 pm


Leave a Reply

