The Way I See It

Gyalthang

with 5 comments

Stupa

Stupa

Gyalthang, also known as Zhongdian or Shangri-la, sits in the ancient Kingdaon of Kham, on the Tibetan Plateau. Geographically, it is located in northern Yunnan province, almost on the border with Sichuan. Although under Chinese rule, the region is predominantly Tibetan, with a small population of Han Chinese and other ethnic minorities.

Had things gone according to plan, I would have spent today flying home from a visit to Gyalthang. But the trip was canceled at the last minute and I ended up being able to spend Thanksgiving at home, something that I am extremely thankful for. These images are from September, on a prior trip.

Pilgrims

Pilgrims

Photog Notes
I made these images under some pretty difficult lighting conditions. Stupa was taken in the afternoon, under a bright blue sky with puffy white clouds and strong directional light. The shot was made in the shadow-strewn square, resulting in a bright sky and dark architectural details. In processing, I applied a generous amount of lightening to bring out the beauty in the colors and decorative details. Pilgrims, on the other hand, was shot under a gray, overcast sky right after an afternoon storm. The dull lighting resulted in a rather flat image. To counter this, I applied a teeny bit of Orton effect to give the tones a kick as well as to add a bit of depth. Overall, both images took a bit of work but I’m pretty pleased with the results. They help reflect the colorfulness and vibrancy of life in Gyalthang.

 

Written by xinapray

November 27, 2011 at 7:07 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gorgeous gorgeous photos. I would love to see those prayer wheels.You did a great job with the photos. I just received my first DSLR!! Any tips?! I took some photos today in the AM, it wasn’t overcast, and think an ISO of 200 made my pictures too light. I have so much to learn!

    marinachetner

    November 27, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    • Thanks, Marina! Congratulations on the new camera! It may be a bit more of a hassle to lug around, but I think that you’ll find that the added control that you have makes it worth it. I’d begin by getting to getting to know the controls really well. Beyond the basics (of ISO, aperture size and shutter speed), white balance and exposure compensation will become your friends. I haven’t looked at how-to books in a long time, but I’m sure that your local camera store (or amazon) would be able to suggest a good fast-start book. Congrats again – am anticipating lots of pics on your blog.

      xinapray

      November 29, 2011 at 10:13 am

  2. Very beautiful!

    drawandshoot

    November 29, 2011 at 9:44 am

  3. Oh yes – the WB and exposure compensation. I am not there yet! Looking forward to sharing some pics with you!

    marinachetner

    November 29, 2011 at 4:09 pm


Leave a Reply

