The Way I See It

Autumn Reflections

with 18 comments

Lakeside Birches

Lakeside Birches

While the fiery and majestic maples are often the superstars of the Fall season, there is just something about the elegant simplicity of the common Birch that I find so endearing. I love how the dainty golden yellow leaves dance at the gentlest hint of a breeze. I am mesmerized by the stark paper-white barks; they often seem to emit a glow of their own. And what I like best is to gaze upon the stands of Birches that adorn the shores of our rivers and lakes. To be able to witness their beauty adjacent to and on the gently undulating water, that is Autumn magic.

Photog Notes
I shot this at 1/3 of a second, f/38, ISO 200. This image is pretty much straight out of the camera. In processing, I boosted the contrast and saturation a little bit to compensate for the fact that I was pulling the colors off the water surface. But more than anything else, it was a combination of experimentation and good luck that allowed me to capture the definition, textures and tones in this image.

 

Written by xinapray

November 22, 2011 at 7:13 am

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love how you created this abstract photograph. It’s so elegant and beautiful.

    KatiesCameraBlog

    November 22, 2011 at 11:36 am

    • Thanks, Katie!

      xinapray

      November 23, 2011 at 1:32 pm

  2. Very cool 🙂

    Charlie McDonald

    November 22, 2011 at 11:59 am

    • Thanks, Charlie! I’m following your strobe work with great interest…you’re making super progress!

      xinapray

      November 23, 2011 at 1:33 pm

  3. well this experimentation proved to be worthy of a winner. It seemingly has the texture of silk – like a silk scarf with a beautiful yellow design on it.

    marinachetner

    November 22, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    • Thanks for your kind words, Marina. A friend described this image as Impressionist-like. I kind of like it.

      xinapray

      November 23, 2011 at 1:39 pm

      • You know what – I think that is pretty on the mark. I do love Monet and maybe that is why I am so drawn to this. Great stuff!

        marinachetner

        November 23, 2011 at 1:57 pm

      • Thank you, Marina!

        xinapray

        November 23, 2011 at 3:49 pm

      • I think I may need to use your image in one of my Inspiration posts – is that ok? I will give credit and ping back to your blog. Let me know!

        marinachetner

        November 23, 2011 at 3:54 pm

      • Absolutely ok! (I am flattered, thank you!)

        xinapray

        November 23, 2011 at 4:08 pm

      • awesome – thanks! it’s raining here today so I may post it tomorrow!!

        marinachetner

        November 23, 2011 at 4:14 pm

      • No hurry.
        It’s been raining here for 2 days straight, with 2-3 more to follow. Seattle winters. 😉

        xinapray

        November 23, 2011 at 4:17 pm

      • well… the reason I started posting the Inspiration blog is because rain makes me crave inspiration – or any overcast, chilly weather for that matter, Check out my other two posts on it (you can click on the tag: inspiration, I think). It will explain the whole thing 🙂

        marinachetner

        November 23, 2011 at 4:28 pm

      • Thanks, Marina. I will be sure to check out the series! Happy Thanksgiving!

        xinapray

        November 24, 2011 at 9:15 am

      • Great – hope you enjoy them. Happy Thanksgiving!

        marinachetner

        November 24, 2011 at 1:03 pm

  4. […] Image source […]

  5. Wow! This is wonderful. The blend of colors bending in the water just takes my breath away. A good eye to see and capture it.

    mB

    November 28, 2011 at 12:27 pm


Leave a Reply

