The Way I See It

Misplaced Sunset

with 8 comments

Misplaced Sunset

Misplaced Sunset

I think it’s no secret that I dig shooting abstracts. I made this image during the summer of last year. Always liked it, but somehow never got around to posting. Then today, while looking for a photograph of a friend, I ran across it and so here it is, my misplaced sunset.

Photog Notes
The main challenge with making images such as this is that in order to get the rich colors and cool reflections, one has to wait until the light levels are pretty low. This invariably leads to difficult ISO vs shutter speed vs depth of field choices. I usually end up having to crank up the ISO, leading to graininess and potentially muddy colors. In this case, I lucked out. The light levels were high enough to allow me to make an exposure of 1/125th of a second with an aperture of f/9.5; the ISO was set at 400.

Written by xinapray

November 3, 2011 at 9:20 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice clean abstract Ray…great shot!

    Anil Sud

    November 3, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    • Thanks, Anil! Hope all is well with you!

      xinapray

      November 3, 2011 at 9:37 pm

  2. That is a great shot, crisp and beautiful

    ehpem

    November 3, 2011 at 9:44 pm

  3. nice abstractness and colorful!

    joshi daniel

    November 3, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    • Thanks, Joshi! I love your images, especially the B/Ws!

      xinapray

      November 4, 2011 at 8:25 am

  4. I tried this several weeks ago when we were out on the boat. It didn’t quite work, so thanks for the tips. Lovely photo–I see this view all the time.

    thepetalpusher

    November 4, 2011 at 4:19 am

    • Thanks, Terry. One other tip is to use a long lens – you want to get as close to the action as possible (and sometimes the action happens pretty far away from where you may be).

      xinapray

      November 4, 2011 at 8:27 am


Leave a Reply

