The Way I See It

You Are My Never-Ending Song

with 4 comments

I made this image at sunset on Sunday. Things looked bleak from the house but I decided to head down to the water anyway (because any sunset hour on the beach is a good hour). I got there to find dark clouds obscuring the horizon, except for a break north of where the sun would set. Things were not looking good but as 8:30 approached, brilliant orange light spilled from that gash in the gray, and soon the sky was aglow and the crests of waves took on amazing color. I didn’t feel like setting up the tripod and gear so I decided to work on some handheld interpretive images instead.

你是我一首唱不完的歌

你是我一首唱不完的歌

Photog Notes
To achieve a painterly effect, I exposed this image at ⅓ second while panning the camera parallel to the horizon. To bring out the detail in the waves and mountains, I used a relatively long 105 mm focal length, aperture set to f/38 (to achieve maximum depth of field as well as to allow for the long shutter speed). One key with making images like this is to achieve a smooth sweep while the shutter is open. This accomplish this, I usually start panning before I trip the shutter. As I’m panning, I’m also visualizing the horizon line (remember that the viewfinder is blacked out while the shutter is open) to achieve a level horizon.

 

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful interpretive image, Ray…very inspiring!

    Anil Sud

    August 19, 2011 at 9:03 pm

  2. Very nice! I have been trying to push my self to shoot more creatively like this stuff. I will have to try this one of these days 🙂

    Charlie McDonald

    August 26, 2011 at 7:45 am

    • Thanks, Charlie! I find that it is all too easy for me to get lazy. Pushing is often the way to move forward. There will be times when an entire shoot results in nothing special. But it usually lays the groundwork for something down the road. You live in an amazing part of the world. Are you familiar with Darwin Wiggett? He’s one of my inspirations. http://darwinwiggett.wordpress.com/

      xinapray

      August 26, 2011 at 8:17 am


Leave a Reply

