The Way I See It

Seven Past Sundown

with 2 comments

I got home around 8 last night. Driving home, I noted how nice the golden sunshine looked (and felt!). From the house, I could see far west enough to know that this was not going to be a blow-your-mind sun-below-the-cloud-cover evening. But nonetheless, the glow in the sky was interesting enough that I grabbed some gear and headed down to Carkeek Park, hoping to maybe catch a reasonable Olympic Mountains silhouette.

Seven Past Sundown

Seven Past Sundown

To bring the mountains close, I made this image with a long telephoto zoom lens. I set the ISO to 200 and shot the image at a wide f/5.6. Not the most optimal aperture, but I had been lazy and not set up the tripod – in order to get a reasonable hand-holdable shutter speed (1/15 of a second in this case), I was forced to compromise. In addition, I braced the camera against a sturdy fence to help keep it still. That bright horizontal line at the bottom of the frame, btw, is a patch of water that is reflecting light being bounced off the clouds.

Written by xinapray

July 29, 2011 at 4:15 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. this is an incredibly beautiful photo–the colors, the silhouette

    thepetalpusher

    July 29, 2011 at 7:44 pm


Leave a Reply

