The Way I See It

Home Again

with 2 comments

Self-Portrait in Acrylic

Self-Portrait in Acrylic

Shanghai – Chengdu – Kunming – Shangri-la – Lijiang – Shanghai in 11 days. Wow, what a trip. I caught a cold in Shanghai, an auspicious start that was followed with a bit of altitude sickness in Shangri-la. But all the while, the company was great. I got to see lots, do lots, accomplish lots. Caught the holidaying crowds in a festive Lijiang on Duanwujie, strolled down a Chengdu boulevard where the entire street smelled like Ma La (Sichuan hot pepper) cooking, had dinner and drinks with a celebrity hairdresser in Kunming, even got to belt a few at a Tibetan-style KTV in Shangri-la.

But by the end, I was glad to be heading back. To the quiet and tranquility and solitude of my special space; to the safety and steadfastness of the rock of my life. Ask me in a couple of weeks and I’ll probably tell you that I’m ready to go again. But for now, nothing beats being home.

Written by xinapray

June 10, 2011 at 3:58 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow. Sounds nice – both being there and returning.

    We’ll soon be returning. It’s been a great trip for us, too, but like you I’m quite ready.

    Contrast is good!

    Bill Hoke

    June 11, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    • Thanks, Bill! Looks like you’ve had quite the adventure. Ready to make it an annual affair? 😉

      xinapray

      June 11, 2011 at 11:55 pm


Leave a Reply

